FFA to seek exemptions for the Victorian Hyundai A-League Clubs to enter NSW

Following yesterday’s announcement by the NSW Government to close the NSW border to Victoria, Football Federation Australia (FFA) today confirmed that they will be applying for exemptions to allow the Players and High Performance coaching staff from Melbourne City FC, Melbourne Victory and Western United FC to enter NSW for the remainder of Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Season.

FFA Head of Leagues, Greg O’Rourke, said that every effort was made to relocate the clubs out of Victoria before the closing of the borders, but unfortunately, despite all the players boarding a plane to the ACT, weather closed Canberra Airport which then made it impossible to leave Victoria before the borders closed. 

“As a result, we will now begin the process to seek exemptions from the NSW Government to allow the teams to enter NSW for them to continue their season,” said O’Rourke.

“If we find it necessary to revise the match schedule we will do so accordingly and will announce once confirmed, however at this time the schedule remains the same,” concluded O’Rourke.