Dolan Warren Awards: Birighitti and Redmayne split Goalkeeper of the Year honours

2020/21 A-League Goalkeeper of the Year honours were handed to both Mark Birighitti and Andrew Redmayne at the virtually-held Dolan Warren Awards on Wednesday, 23 June.

A mix of votes from a panel of experts and the Johnny Warren Medal votes won by the highest ranked goalkeepers were used to adjudge the two custodians as joint-recipients of the award for the 2020/21 A-League season.

Redmayne earned his share of the award after keeping the most clean sheets (nine) of any shot-stopper around the league in 2020/21.

The Sky Blues finished second on the A-League table after keeping a total of 10 clean sheets throughout the season, with stand-in ‘keeper Thomas Heward-Belle claiming the final shut-out of the campaign as Redmayne departed for Socceroos duty in the final Matchweek of the season.

Redmayne made 88 saves and enjoyed a 79.1% save percentage this season, conceding 23 goals in his 25 games played.

Birighitti joins Redmayne as a recipient of the 2020/21 Goalkeeper of the Year award after starring in a Central Coast Mariners side on the rise.

The Gosford team finished third in 2020/21, returning to the Finals Series after three bottom-placed finishes in a row, and Birighitti played an integral part in making the surprise story of the season possible. 

Birighitti kept eight clean sheets and made 66 saves from 99 shots struck on target throughout the campaign. He conceded 33 goals in 27 games played to help the Mariners to 12 wins, six draws and nine losses.

A-League Grand Final – Match Details

Melbourne City v Sydney FC
Sunday, June 27 2021
Venue: AAMI Park
Kick-off: 5.05pm AEST
Match Centre

Ways to watch

KAYO FREEBIES: How to watch all the Finals Series action LIVE and FREE on Kayo Sports!
Download the MyFootball Live App now
Get Foxtel

Kayo Freebies - Thin Banner