Dolan Warren Awards 2021 to be held virtually this Wednesday evening

A UNIQUE season deserves a unique event, and the annual celebration of the best of Australian football will be presented with a whole new look this year.

On Wednesday, the most spectacular achievements in the A-League and Westfield W-League this season will be celebrated at a brand-new, virtual Dolan Warren Awards night, the first to be staged by the Australian Professional Leagues (APL).

Hosted by Claudio Fabiano and Fox Sport’s Victoria Slater, the online event will allow fans to interact with the presentations as the winners are announced. As always, the night will culminate in the announcement of which outstanding players have been chosen by their peers to receive the

Julie Dolan Medal and the Johnny Warren Medal as the players of the season.

Before the A-League 2021 Grand Final closes off a tumultuous season, former Matilda and trailblazer Julie Dolan herself will present her eponymous award, while John Moriarty, will award the Johnny Warren Medal.

Awards including the A-League and Westfield W-League Golden Boots, goal of the year and coach of the year will be presented by a range of football content creators and influencers, including the likes of Eli Mengem from Copa 90, Olan Tekkers, Chad Gibson and The Ladies League.

“We’ve had to do a lot of things differently this season, and a new-format, virtual Dolan Warren Awards is an innovative way of celebrating our football in the most responsible way,” said A-League Commissioner Greg O’Rourke.

“Most importantly, fans can engage with the awards as they happen, something we’ve never been able to do before.”

APL will join with Professional Footballers Australia to announce their A-League team of the season and acknowledge the previously announced Westfield W-League of the season.

“As the A-League season reaches its climax, the players selected in the player-voted PFA Team of the Season will be delighted to bel acknowledged by their peers during Grand Final week and as part of the prestigious Dolan Warren awards,” said Beau Busch, co-CEO of the PFA.

Fans can watch the show via the A-League and Westfield W-League Facebook pages, My Football YouTube channel, and the My Football Live App on Wednesday evening, 23 June at 7:30pm (AEST).