Canberra United unveil new W-League signings

Reigning Westfield W-League Champions Canberra United have announced the signing of five new players ahead of the 2015/16 season.

Mexican international superstar Veronica Perez and New Zealand forward Emma Kete are joined by Emma Checker, Jenna McCormick and 16-year-old rookie Nickoletta Flannery in a group that looks set for another sustained title charge.

Perez, capped 78 times by Mexico, signs from Washington Spirit and will bring her unique flair and individuality to the squad and will be the first Mexican international to play in the Westfield W-League. Kete is no stranger to the competition having enjoyed fruitful stints at Perth Glory and Sydney FC in addition to being part of the Canberra United team that won the title in Season 4.

Westfield W-League 2015/16 Season Draw released

Young defender Checker, capped once by the Matildas, signs on from Melbourne Victory and is joined by McCormick who was Adelaide United Player of the Season last year. Flannery meanwhile is a local Canberra product who has been in tremendous form for the NTC United this past season and was a stand-out in the recent trial process.

“We are extremely pleased to welcome these new players to Canberra and are sure that they will add to the quality that we already have in our squad,” Head Coach Rae Dower commented. “The players that we have added to the roster all bring exceptional talent and skill and will settle into the team environment that is such an important part of our success at United.”

Also returning for Season 8 is goalkeeper Lydia Williams, back in the number one jersey after missing last season through injury. One of Canberra’s foundation players, Williams made a successful return from her second knee injury to play an integral role in the Matildas run to the World Cup Quarter Finals in Canada.

Matildas goalkeeper Lydia Williams

Williams is one of six players who were part of the inaugural Canberra squad in 2008 with Grace Gill, Nicole Begg, Ashleigh Sykes, Rebecca Kiting (who took a sabbatical to complete a scholarship in the USA) and Ellie Brush all back for another tilt at the title. 

Canberra United begins the defence of their Westfield W-League crown on Sunday 18th October when they play Brisbane Roar at Suncorp Stadium. 

1. Lydia WILLIAMS, 2. Catherine BROWN, 3. Julia DE ANGELIS, 4. Kendall FLETCHER, 5. Jenna MCCORMICK, 6. Caitlin MUNOZ, 7. Ellie BRUSH, 8. Meg MCLAUGHLIN, 9. Grace GILL, 10. Grace MAHER, 11. Michelle HEYMAN, 12. Emma KETE, 13. Nicole BEGG, 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 15. Emma CHECKER, 16. Tegan RIDING, 17. Veronica PEREZ, 18. Rebecca KITING, 19. Nickoletta FLANNERY, 20. Melissa MAIZELS

Head Coach: Rae DOWER
Assistant Coach: Njegosh POPOVICH
Team Manager: Antoni JAGARINEC
Goalkeeper Coach: Aroon CLANSEY
Video Analyst: Jocelyn MARA
Doctor: Dr. Wilson LO
Physiotherapist: Julian RUSSELL-JONES

CEO: Heather REID
Media & Communications Manager: Russ GIBBS
Events Manager: Michael KELLY
Football Operations: Chris DOYLE
Membership Manager: Sigourney DUNK
Workforce Manager: Sam IRVINE