Brisbane Roar v Canberra United: match preview

Brisbane Roar may still be smarting from their costly defeat last weekend when they host Canberra United in a vital encounter on Sunday.

Jake Goodship’s side missed the chance to close the gap on the top four after they lost 4-2 to Perth Glory in Round 12.

Three points separates Roar and a spot in the finals and with a final round clash against Premiers-elect Melbourne City in the last round, they simply must take maximum points here.

For Canberra, this will be their last game of the regular season – they have a bye in Round 14 – and they’ll be keen to finish the campaign in style.

They snapped a four-game losing streak with an emphatic 3-1 win over Adelaide United last time out and have the chance to put a final nail in Roar’s top four hopes with a positive result here.

It will also be the final game in charge for Canberra boss Heather Garriock, giving even more motivation to the visitors to perform at Lions FC Stadium.

Click here to buy tickets

Sunday, 23 February 2020
Kick-off: 5.30pm AEDT
Venue: Lions FC Stadium
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports 

ROUND 13: How to watch the upcoming round of Westfield W-League 

Watch live and free

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @WLeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #BRIvCBR #WLeague

How to watch

Team news

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk), 2.Carson PICKETT, 3.Celeste BOUREILLE, 4.Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5.Shea CONNORS, 6.Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 7.Indiah-Paige RILEY, 8.Kaitlyn TORPEY, 9.Rylee BAISDEN, 10.Katrina GORRY, 11.Natalie TATHEM, 15.Claire FARRINGTON, 18.Leah DAVIDSON, 19.Hollie PALMER, 20.Georgina WORTH (gk), 21.Winonah HEATLEY, 23.Isobel DALTON **two to be omitted**

Ins: 8.Kaitlyn TORPEY (promoted), 9.Rylee BAISDEN (promoted), 10.Katrina GORRY (returns from suspension), 15.Claire FARRINGTON (promoted)
Outs: 13.Tameka YALLOP (strain – tbc), 22.Anna MARGRAF (omitted)
Unavailable: Nil

Canberra United squad: 1.Annalee GROVE (gk), 2.Laura HUGHES, 3.Kaleigh KURTZ, 4.Jessie RASSCHAERT, 5.Nikola ORGILL (c), 6.Emma STANBURY, 7.Simone CHARLEY, 8.Olivia PRICE, 11.Elise THORSNES, 12.Hayley TAYLOR-YOUNG, 16.Karly ROESTBAKKEN, 17.Patricia CHARALAMBOUS, 18.Taren KING, 19.Leena KHAMIS, 20.Shamiran KHAMIS (gk), 21.Rebekah HORSEY. **one to be omitted**

Ins: 17.Patricia CHARALAMBOUS (promoted), 21.Rebekah HORSEY (promoted)
Outs: 25.Rachael Goldstein (omitted),
Unavailable:  10.Camila PEREIRA (ankle, 2 weeks)


My Football Live banner