Aloisi extends Brisbane Roar stay

Brisbane Roar coach John Aloisi has signed a new three-year deal with the three-time Hyundai A-League Champions, the club confirmed on Saturday night.

Roar Managing Director Mark Kingsman made the announcement at the club’s annual awards.

Meanwhile, left back Corey Brown capped off an excellent 2016/17 season by winning the Gary Wilkins Medal for the Roar’s Hyundai A-League Player of the Season.

Brown joins an illustrious list of winners including current Club Captain Matt McKay and departing German marquee Thomas Broich.

Brisbane’s fullback is the first defender to take home the Gary Wilkins Medal since teammate Luke DeVere won the award in the Hyundai A-League 2009/10 season.

Roar Head Coach John Aloisi congratulated Brown on an outstanding season for the Club.

“Well done to Corey who had a fantastic season. We are proud of his development as a footballer and a leader amongst our group,” Aloisi said.


Triple Championship-winning import Thomas Broich is the first inductee into the BRFC Hall of Fame after making 203 appearances for Brisbane across all competitions over seven (7) seasons.

Aloisi praised Broich’s contribution to football not only in Brisbane, but Australia and believed the German maestro is the perfect choice as Roar’s inaugural Hall of Fame inductee.

“Thomas is a club legend, a wonderful footballer who has helped build a successful culture within our Club,” Aloisi added.

“Words cannot describe the influence he has had on all of us.

“I’d like to personally congratulate Thomas on becoming the first player to be inducted into the BRFC Hall of Fame.”


Jamie Maclaren won Brisbane Roar’s Hyundai A-League Golden Boot & Player’s Player of the Year Awards, after scoring 20 goals for a second consecutive season.

Brisbane Roar FC 2016/17 Award Winners:

Gary Wilkins Medal: Corey Brown

Inaugural BRFC Hall of Fame Inductee: Thomas Broich

Hyundai A-League Golden Boot: Jamie Maclaren

Men’s Player’s Player of the Year: Jamie Maclaren

BRFC Breakthrough Player: Joe Caletti

Westfield W-League Player of the Year: Katrina Gorry

Westfield W-League Golden Boot: Tameka Butt & Katrina Gorry

Women’s Player’s Player of the Year: Maddy Evans