All square in Grand Final rematch

Brisbane Roar and Melbourne Victory played out a 1-1 draw in their Westfield W-League clash at Goodwin Park on Sunday.

After a tight first half, the game opened up in the second stanza, with Amy Jackson finding the net for the visitors before Sunny Franco came off the bench to equalise for the Roar.

Few clear chances came in the opening quarter of the match, though Brisbane had the upper hand in terms of possession and field position.

Roar captain Clare Polkinghorne came close in the 21st minute when she arrived a fraction too late to tap in an Elise Kellond-Knight free kick delivered from deep.

Kim Carroll then drove forward out of midfield and unleashed a stinging shot from long range which sailed just over the Victory goal.

A rapid counter attack from the Roar four minutes before the break saw Kellond-Knight and Tameka Butt exchange passes before the former blasted well over the bar.

The match was goalless at half time but Victory had an opportunity to take the lead moments into the second term but Lisa De Vanna’s low shot skidded across the face of goal.

De Vanna teed up Beatrice Goad in the Roar box in the 64th minute but Spence slid in to smother the chance.

A good period for the visitors culminated in the opening goal of the match when Jackson went on a jinking run before slotting home.

Goad almost doubled the advantage soon after but Roar goalkeeper Nadine Angerer did well to block her powerful shot.

Substitute Sunny Franco drew her side level in the 82nd minute when she pick-pocketed Emma Checker and finished coolly past the Victory keeper.

Brisbane Roar 1 (Franco 82’)

Melbourne Victory 1 (Jackson 69’)