ACL draw revealed for Hyundai A-League clubs

Adelaide United and Western Sydney Wanderers have learned their opponents for next year’s Asian Champions League after the draw in Malaysia on Tuesday night (AEDT).

The draw for the ACL Group Stages was conducted in a ceremony at the Hilton Petaling Jaya in Selangor, Malaysia. 

Defending Hyundai A-League Champions Adelaide United are in Group H and will face Jiangsu FC (China), Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors (Korea Republic) and a playoff winner (TBD).

Tony Popovic’s Western Sydney Wanderers were drawn in Group F along with FC Seoul (Japan), Japan’s 2nd Club (TBD) and a playoff winner (TBD).  

Brisbane Roar are still in the running to qualify for the Group Stages but face an uphill battle to join their fellow Hyundai A-League clubs in the tournament proper.

John Aloisi’s side will play the winner of Global (Philippines) and Tampines Rovers (Singapore) in a playoff and, if successful, a one-off clash away to Chinese powerhouse Shanghai Shenhua awaits.