RANKED: The A-Leagues clubs with the most trophies from 13-1

Socceroos legend and former A-Leagues star Tim Cahill has been inducted in the Sport Australia Hall of Fame, we take a look back at his first ever goal in the Isuzu UTE A-League.

With the Liberty A-League and Isuzu UTE A-League competitions edging closer to kick-off and the Australia Cup Final this weekend, we look at the sum total of each club’s trophy cabinet in the A-Leagues era.

Teams across the Liberty A-League and Isuzu UTE A-League have tasted various levels of success, both domestically and continentally.

From the A-League Women and Men, to the Australia Cup and AFC Champions League – some A-Leagues clubs have been more successful than others.

With the Liberty A-League scheduled to get underway on October 14 before the Isuzu UTE A-League begins on October 20, we look at all 13 clubs and how many trophies they have won in the A-Leagues era.

13. Wellington Phoenix – 0

New Zealand’s only representative in the A-Leagues are yet to register their first piece of silverware.

12. Macarthur FC – 1

The Bulls, who entered the Isuzu UTE A-League in 2020, earned their maiden title by winning the 2022 Australia Cup.

11. Western United – 1

In their third Isuzu UTE A-League season, Western United won the Championship under John Aloisi. Their women’s side almost capped a Cinderella debut campaign with a Liberty A-League crown but lost last season’s Grand Final.

10. Newcastle Jets – 1

To date, the club’s only piece of silverware remains the 2008-09 A-League Men Championship.

9. Western Sydney Wanderers – 2

The Wanderers are the only Australian men’s team to conquer Asia after winning the 2014 AFC Champions League. Western Sydney also have an Isuzu UTE A-League Premiership to their name from 2012-13.

8. Perth Glory – 2

Perth’s Premiership honours have been split across the Isuzu UTE A-League (2018-19) and Liberty A-League (2014).

It is also worth noting that these tallies only extend to the A-Leagues era; the Glory have also claimed five pieces of silverware prior in the form of two Championships (2003, 2004) and three Premierships (1999-2000, 2001-02, 2003-04) in the National Soccer League.

7. Central Coast Mariners – 4

Isuzu UTE A-League champions for a second time last season (2013, 2023), the Mariners have also managed a pair of Premier’s Plates (2008, 2012). The Central Coast women’s team is preparing to re-join the Liberty A-League in 2023-24.

6. Canberra United – 5

The Liberty A-League outfit have won two Championships (2012, 2015) and three Premierships (2012, 2014, 2017) during their time in the competition.

5. Adelaide United – 6

Adelaide have a solitary Isuzu UTE A-League Championship in the trophy cabinet (2016), along with two Premierships (2006, 2016) and a record three Australia Cup titles (2014, 2018, 2019).

4. Brisbane Roar – 10

Step forward Brisbane, who have tasted success with their men and women.

There have been three A-League Men Championships (2011, 2012, 2014) and two A-League Women Championships (2009, 2011), plus five Premierships – two for the men (2011, 2014) and three for the women (2009, 2013, 2018).

3. Melbourne City – 11

City are the record three-time reigning Isuzu UTE A-League premiers (2021, 2022, 2023), while they have also won a Championship (2021) and an Australia Cup (2016). On the women’s side, the club have dominated with the equal-most Championships (four in 2016, 2017, 2018, 2020) and two Premierships (2016, 2020).

2. Melbourne Victory – 13

Victory are next on the list thanks to the success of their men’s and women’s teams.

Up until 2020, Victory had the joint most A-League Men Championships with four (2007, 2009, 2015, 2018) to go with three Premierships (2007, 2009, 2015). The Melbourne team have also clinched a pair of Australia Cups (2015, 2021), while their star-studded women’s team have collected three Championships (2014, 2021, 2022) and a Premiership (2019).

1. Sydney FC – 19

The Sky Blues are the most successful club, across A-League Men and Women.

Sydney FC have won the most Isuzu UTE A-League Championships (five in 2006, 2010, 2017, 2019, 2020) and Premierships (four in 2010, 2017, 2018, 2020) to go with an Australia Cup triumph (2017).

They have also claimed the most Liberty A-League Premierships (five in 2009, 2010, 2021, 2022, 2023) and the joint-most Championships (four in 2009, 2013, 2019, 2023) in the competition’s history after doing the double under Ante Juric last season.