Four membership records already smashed 40 days out from start of season

Matildas Chloe Logarzo, Emily Gielnik and Elise Kellond-Knight have all spoken about the positive news that the Liberty Pass, which will be available this upcoming season.

Welcome to A-Leagues Life, where KEEPUP brings you all the latest news and goings on at your club. This is how the week is shaping up across the A-Leagues and beyond.

Liberty A-League membership records smashed 40 days out from the season

Four A-Leagues clubs have already smashed their Liberty A-League membership records with just less than six weeks to go until the season opener.

Brisbane Roar, Canberra United, Melbourne Victory and Sydney FC have all announced over the last couple of weeks that they have broken their A-League Women membership records, with those numbers only set to increase in anticipation for the new season.

New Roar Chief Operating Officer Zac Anderson confirmed the news last week in a management update Q&A on the club’s website.

β€œI am excited to announce that we have smashed our record with our A-League Women’s memberships. Last year, and reviewing the last couple of years, it’s been an unbelievable response and we hope the momentum from the FIFA Women’s World Cup continues,” he said.

“I am proud to announce that we are now well over 1,000 A-League Women’s memberships. It is exciting to see the Liberty A-League passes being well revived and very popular off the back of the Women’s World Cup, and a huge response regarding our community and great local support.” 

Canberra also announced they had broken their membership record on September 1, while Victory reached 1000 members for the first time in late August.

Last Friday, Sydney FC detailed they had a 500% increase on last year’s membership figure.

Meanwhile, 15,000 Liberty Passes have already been snapped up with 40 days until the season opener, which is almost on track to double last year’s number.

If you’re also looking to secure a Liberty A-League club membership or Pass, then head to any of the links below to join the thousands of fans to have already done so.

LOVED THE WORLD CUP? Here’s how to enjoy the Liberty A-League Women incl. FREE tickets for U16’s


Ross wins the pre-season Aloisi Derby

Brisbane Roar and Western United continued their preparations for the upcoming Isuzu UTE A-League season, by taking on one another in pre-season friendly on Saturday afternoon.

It was Ross Aloisi who came away from the contest with the pre-season bragging rights over his brother John, as Brisbane won 3-1 at Meakin Park.

Jay O’Shea, Carlo Armiento and Henry Hore all scored for the home side, while Western youngster Max Bisetto added one for the visitors.

Florin Berenguer also saw some action for the first time in a Roar jersey, coming on as a second half substitute.

Both sides are back in action in the quarter finals of the Australia Cup against Western Sydney Wanderers and Sydney FC respectively.

Quarter-final dates locked in for Australia Cup

The dates for the quarter-finals of the 2023 Australia Cup were locked in by Football Australia on Monday morning, with a Thursday night doubleheader set to kick off the action.

NPL South Australia premiers MetroStars will welcome Melbourne City to town on September 14, while NPL Victoria heavyweights Melbourne Knights and Heidelberg United meet once more at Knights Stadium – with both matches happening simultaneously at 7:30 PM (AEST).

Then on Saturday evening, Brisbane Roar host Western Sydney Wanderers at Perry Park from 4 PM (AEST), before Sydney FC take on Western United the following day at Leichhardt Oval from 3 PM (AEST).

The draw for the semi finals will be immediately after the Sky Blues’ clash with Western, with the matches to take on place on September 23, 24 and or 27.

All quarter final matches will be shown live and free on 10 Play.

Here’s the full schedule:

MetroStars v Melbourne City    
Date: Thursday, September 14
Venue: TK Shutter Reserve
Kick Off: 7:30pm (AEST), 7 PM local 

Melbourne Knights v Heidelberg United 
Date: Thursday, September 14
Venue: Knights Stadium
Kick Off: 7:30 PM (AEST)

Brisbane Roar v Western Sydney Wanderers 
Date: Saturday, September 16
Venue: Perry Park
Kick Off: 4:00pm (AEST)

Sydney FC v Western United 
Date: Sunday, September 17
Venue: Leichhardt Oval
Kick Off: 3:00pm (AEST)