5 impending Hyundai A-League milestones

The Hyundai A-League 2017/18 Season could see a number of significant landmarks reached.

We look at the possible milestones which could be chalked up in the competition’s 13th season.


Andrew Durante needs just 11 more games to become the Hyundai A-League’s all-time leading appearance maker, passing Danny Vukovic (278).

Three players are within reach of making their 250th Hyundai A-League appearance – Adelaide defender Tarek Elrich (243), Victory stalwart Leigh Broxham (237) and Jets returnee Nikolai Topor-Stanley (236).

Another three players should join the 200-club early in the new season, with Sydney FC striker Matt Simon (196), Jets captain Nigel Boogaard (194) and Sky Blues skipper Alex Brosque (193) all closing in.


Besart Berisha is out on his own at the top of the all-time goalscoring list and will look to add to his tally of 102 goals.

The closest still-active challenger is Alex Brosque with 63, followed by Mark Bridge on 58.

But City skipper Bruno Fornaroli could become the eighth – and fastest – player to notch 50 goals.

The Uruguayan has 42 goals in just 56 games.

Matt Simon could also raise his bat with a 50th Hyundai A-League goal this season – he needs six more.


Eugene Galekovic is the closest challenger to Danny Vukovic’s A-League record of 85 clean sheets.

The Melbourne City goalkeeper has 72 to his name, with Roar’s Mike Theo next on the list with 68.


Graham Arnold is set to become the second coach to oversee 200 Hyundai A-League matches.

The Sky Blues mentor will chalk up that milestone in round 17, joining Jets coach Ernie Merrick in the 200-club.

Meantime, Tony Popovic will reach 150 games in charge of Western Sydney in round eight.

And Roar’s John Aloisi will take charge in his 100th Hyundai A-League game in round three.


Chris Beath needs two more appointments to become just the third referee to officiate 150 Hyundai A-League matches, joining Peter Green (173) and Ben Williams (160).

And Kris Griffiths-Jones is four short of joining the currently six-strong group to have controlled 100 games.